top of page
  • Writer's pictureKourtney Vitera

The First Sip

Updated: Sep 16, 2021

Hey there! I’m glad you’re here reading! This is a post where I’m sharing a bit of what my time here in Colorado has looked like, as well as an incredible story of how the Lord is moving in/through a small coffee shop in downtown Colorado Springs...a coffee shop that I have the honor of working for! Keep reading! This is a fun one!

 

I have been living here in Colorado Springs for a little over a month and mannnnnnnnnnnn!!! What a time it’s been! The first few weeks here were a bit slow, but it was a sweet time for me to process, transition, and rest. In those slow beginning weeks, God was doing ALOT of behind-the-scenes work for my life. As I was simply abiding, waiting, and resting, God was preparing an incredible pathway. His timing is SO PERFECT. In this season, I have been IN AWE of the way He is so detailed and wise in His creating. He creates GOOD things!


July 27th, I drove downtown to try out a coffee shop I heard about, as well as to get some work done. My job at Starbucks had not yet started, and I had about a week before I began training. At this point, I was feeling very excited about my job and was thrilled to be starting soon. After seeing the way the Lord opened the door for me to work at Starbucks, I knew He had good things in store. I was ready to “Go” into the mission field that the Lord was preparing for me.

That day, as I walked into the coffee shop known as Samaritan Coffee @ 225, I was greeted by a man named Jim. As he rang my order up, we began talking about our passions for coffee, which then led to us talking about Jesus (usually what happens with me).

I learned that Jim loved the Lord.

I learned that we both went to Guatemala and grew even more passionate about coffee there.

I learned that it was his last day at 225 because he and his wife were opening their own shop soon.

I learned that 225 would be hiring and Jim REALLY wanted me to apply.

I was honored, but I shared with him what the Lord was doing with me getting a job at Starbucks and shared that I was really excited to be working there. I also hated the idea of telling Starbucks no after committing to them a week prior (thanks again mom and dad for raising me to be a woman of my word!!!!). I told him I would pray about it and let him know.


A little back story: The family I live with has Thursday night dinners every week where they invite a bunch of young adults over for dinner (the majority of the people being World Race Alumni). They really value doing life around the table...something I am HONORED to be a part of. It’s a cool “church” they have going on.


That Thursday, a guy named Alex came and turns out, he's also an employee at 225. I got to talk to him about the shop, his experience working there, as well as share my dream of opening my own coffee shop. I walked away from the conversation reallyyyyyy feeling like 225 could be an amazing opportunity. I prayed about it some more and felt ALOT of peace about applying. If the door was open, I’d walk in it. I applied and immediately got an interview. I found out at the interview that the owners of 225 have been intentionally praying for the shop and the next employee at the shop. They were praying that someone with all the things they were looking for would just walk into the doors of 225… and that’s exactly what happened! This is amazing! If you read my last blog, you know that while on the field, I was looking HARD to find a coffee shop with the same heart as me to work under and gain real-life experience. Multiple times I thought I found a place, but none of them were working out! I was praying God would open the doors to a place and 4 months later… here I am! God answers prayers!!!

Now you might be asking, “what about Starbucks?” Well, I am working there too! I decided that I would go to the training and decide if Starbucks was a yes or no after. The ENTIRE time, I was met with TOTAL peace! I also just reallyyyyyyyyy enjoyed it! My manager, my co-workers, the training I was receiving...I KNEW that Starbucks was where God had me.

So, I am now working full-time at Samaritans Coffee @ 225 and part-time at Starbucks. I’ve been working at both locations for about a month and I have seen the GOODNESS of the Lord. This is an abundant season FOR SURE! Thank you, Jesus!

 

I want to share a bit more about the heart behind 225. I recently sat down with my boss Jason, and talked with him a bit more in detail about the shop and the heart behind it. The coffee shop opened about 5 years ago and was owned by a Presbyterian church here in town. They later ended up asking Springs Rescue Mission if they would want to take over the coffee shop through the Missions catering department. They said yes, and took on the shop with the vision of “Celebrating life restored”. The hope of the shop is to eventually send people recovering in the addiction program with Springs Rescue Mission here to work, be trained, discipled, and taught. Above that, it’s to create a place...a home…of safety and joy, for them to love and be loved...spreading the good news of Jesus in the midst of it. Scripture talks about the power of sharing our testimonies. The vision is to invite people to walk as living examples of what the radical transforming love of Jesus can do through their work. 225 strives to be a place that continually hosts the presence of God. A physical place of heaven on earth. Amen!

 

Thanks for reading guys! I love writing, and it’s an honor inviting you into this passion of mine. I’m sorry it has been so long! Finding the balance of work, community, and personal health has been a challenge, but we’re figuring it out! :)

My goal is to post at least 2 blogs a month. Coming up, I have my first blog series called “Child-like”. These are going to be stories prepared by KIDS! I’m excited! Subscribe to keep updated on when they’re posted. You seriously don’t want to miss these!


You are so so loved. Not for what you do, simply just because. The creator of the world says so! <3


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page