top of page
  • Writer's pictureKourtney Vitera

My Testimony By:Andre

Friends! Hi! If you read my last blog, you know that I’m doing a new series called “child-like”. It’s a serious all about having a “child-like faith” through personal stories/testimonies from kiddos telling of how Jesus moved through them, around them, or for them in their lives. To kick this series off, we have a story written by my friend, Andre! I met him a little over 3 years ago while serving in my hometown church. Andre is 13 years old and his love for Jesus shines BRIGHT! It was something I was encouraged by years ago when first meeting him. His family has now become sweet friends of mine who have greatly supported me the past year in my journeys with Jesus. It’s an honor sharing his story! I pray it encourages you and sparks your heart! Thanks for being here! Let's meet Andre!

 

My Favorites:


Favorite Food: Pizza, Shrimp

Favorite Drinks: Dr. Pepper, Pepsi

Favorite Color: Blue

Favorite TV Show: Obstacle Course Shows like Ultimate Beast Master, American Ninja Warrior. Transformers.

Favorite Hobby: Legos, Playing video games.

Favorite School Subject: Language Arts.

Favorite Bible Verse: For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Jeremiah 29:11







 

I was born in Massachusetts with a condition known as Congenital Heart Defect (CHD). Feeling other people in similar situations needed support, Mom began a new chapter of a non-profit organization who helped people such as them. Because the main office of the organization was located in Texas, my family and I started our five-day car journey there in January of 2013. This was where my parents felt God wanted us. When we left, my parents did not know where we would find a home or a source of income; they merely trusted God to supply our needs. He did when He provided us a job for Dad and a home in an apartment complex.

The same month that we had moved in, we had received a flyer for a church nearby. Having had no home church and only one car, we believed it to be God leading us.

Later on, in January of 2017, Dad had lost his job. However, God provided once again. A friend of ours invited us to stay at her house. Dad later got a job working for a construction company so we could pay all our bills. Meanwhile, we had stored some furniture and other belongings in a storage unit. One day during the month of May, a neighborhood flood had swept through the area and damaged almost everything that we had stored.

That same year, Hurricane Harvey devastated a large area of Houston. After the hurricane left the region, we all helped during relief efforts held by a church where Dad met a local politician. One evening, a few days later, we went to eat at a local restaurant. There Dad saw the same politician who was at the warehouse for the relief efforts. When Dad met him again, he offered to help with any needs we might have. After some discussion with Mom, Dad asked him to help find another job. The next day the employer of a car dealership called him for a job interview. Shortly afterwards, Dad received a call from the owner of the construction company for which he worked. He was told that they were out of work and could no longer pay him.

This job is what led us to the church that we now attend. One of the employees introduced us to it during our search for a new church. Six months later, in January of 2020, we visited for the first time. A few weeks later, I began attending the Wednesday night children’s service. Right away, God had given me a sign that something was different about this church. A boy introduced himself to me as he came inside. Consequently, I left that night wanting to come back next week. A year and a half later, my parents bought a house near the church so we could be more involved.

Through these difficult times, I have seen what miraculous things God has done. First is what God has done through my heart condition; my parents were told I would not survive, but God worked a miracle and healed me. Because of that, God led us to Texas through the non-profit organization. Here, Dad lost his job and God led him to work in a car dealership where we were introduced to our new home church. From there, He placed us in a house nearby. Although God has done much for us, none of these things occurred without trial. He always provided what we needed at the right time and gave us the strength to endure the trial.

70 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page